Park County Firewise



Park County Burning Guidelines

Open Burning in Park County

Park County Fire District 2 provides fire protection and rescue services for the City of Cody and northwest Park County. Included in the district is all of the South Fork area, the North Fork area, Sunlight, Crandall, the Powell Highway area to Lane 16 and Highway 120 south to Meeteetse Rim. Within the city limits of Cody open burning is regulated by city ordinance and is primarily allowed only for maintenance of open irrigation ditches. Please see the Burn Permit/Open Burning Regulations for the City of Cody.

Outside the city limits neither the fire district nor Park County regulate open burning. We do however ask that notification is made whenever burns are conducted so that fire department resources and our volunteer firefighters are not tied up responding unnecessarily. Please follow these guidelines:

Call the Park County Sheriff’s Dispatch at 527-8700 and provide the following:

1. Location of burn and what you will be burning.
2. Start time.
3. Contact person and phone number.
4. Call dispatch again when the burn is completed.

While we do not regulate open burning outside the city limits you need to be aware that you may be liable for any damage caused by your burn. There may also be Wyoming Department of Environmental Quality regulations concerning your burn.

If you are located in the Powell, Meeteetse, or Clark Fire District they also appreciate notification as outline above.

Careful planning and preparation will help eliminate having your burn escape. The website has “Before You Burn” that will help you plan and prepare for burning. The Park County Website also has information, and links to other helpful sites that can assist. Also please call our office at 527-8550 if you have additional questions about open burning or any other fire safety issues.

Jerry Parker
Administrator/Park County Fire Warden